Dr Lisa Walker from the Royal Melbourne Hospital Awarded Top Prize

The Buchanan prize named after Dr Peter Buchanan, one of the founders of the Australasian College of Emergency Medicine and a man widely respected for believing in the value of excellence in Emergency Medicine Specialists and trainees, at a time when such specialised physicians were mostly unheard of.

How it works:

During their last year of specialist Emergency Medicine training, doctors must complete a final oral and written exam. Every exam, the highest scoring candidate from among hundreds across Australia and New Zealand, is awarded The Buchanan Prize.

Ask the expert:

Dr Alex Paspaliaris, who won the prize in 2001

“The Australasian Emergency Medicine training program is one of the hardest and most highly recognised in the world.”

Share this...
Share on LinkedInShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like

Newsletter Signup